Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Kos to Athens

    September 18, 2022 in Greece ⋅ 🌙 24 °C

    Right, I was quiet optimistic, that I would be able to get a bed on the ferry. Remember, on the inbound drive, I could last minute book one onsite. This time I was even better prepared to remediate my initial mistake of booking a ferry without a cabin. But no.. No rooms available I was told.
    Well, I wanted to accept it. During the time onboard I spent a lot of time walking around, and since space is limited, I passed by the reception quiet often. Surprisingly every time I passed, it seemed like another room was given to a passenger last minute.
    Meanwhile chilling out on deck - trying to make myself as much as possible comfortable, looking at the stars or enjoying to fresh breeze. I gave up my booked airplane like seat hours ago. Just chaotic. Nobody follows seat reservations and everything the ferry stopped at another port, people came in and discussion or fights about seats started. After I fall as sleep and then woke up because of the fights I gave up the seat. Quiet upset I went to the reception and jelled at the guys there - still friendly but made my point clear. Funny thing, only the people boarded at the last port will get potentially available cabin. I tried to understand that logic while trying to sleep, got woke up by crew members who told me / us that we are not allowed to sleep here and there fall asleep again and eventually arrived in Athens.
    Lessons learned, 8 hours + ferry journey only with a cabin.
    Read more