Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    The ferry to Barcelona and sights

    April 26, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 63 °F

    Slept in a chair on the overnight ferry. A Spanish soap opera blared all night. 10 hours went fast with earplugs. Checked in first night to a large central city bunkhouse. Assigned an upper bunk, eight to a room, 10 rooms per floor, four floors. I’m way too old in a lot of ways. I may not be able to slide past the discomforts like before.
    Mostly nobody speaks English. I smile more, nod more and gesticulate a lot more. Daytime is for tourists. Nighttime is for partying. The chatty, laughing, two beer kind, not the Daytona Beach kind.
    Roamed around midtown to see and feel at street level. The architecture seems to have looked to Paris for inspiration. The crazy exceptions are the Antoni Gaudi buildings I stumbled upon. Think Lord of the Rings Hobbiton movie set meets St. Basil’s Cathedral in the Kremlin. My opinion alone, I’m sure.
    Read more