Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 83

    Greece 101

    July 1, 2023 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 86 °F

    Greece, yup it’s nice. Flowed out of Albania across an unmarked boarder back into the EU and into the last of my visa free Schengen countries. There is a different vibe between Albania and Greece. Generally (emphasis added) speaking, some Greeks I spoke with think Albanians are thugs. Greece is Eastern Orthodox Christian from like forever and Albania used to be Christian but the Turkish Ottomans rearranged things Arabic. So that could be part of it but Albania is also thought to have a robust underworld syndicate operating around Greece. Not cool when Greece is trying to climb out of near default on what they borrowed from the Germans in the last decades. Such are neighbors.

    Down the Greek coast camping along the way. Immediately Greek writing makes everything look like a trigonometry exam or a scientific paper. The truck could be saying Free Taylor Swift Tickets or Take A Sandwich Please, idk.

    Along the coastal roads I followed the artistic work of this anonymous unsanctioned urban artist working in black, white and grey. My outlook on life would slip toward dismal if I didn’t occasionally get slapped back awake by accessible Street art. The shading must be tough to get right with a spray can.

    An oil facility (no photography please said the sign). Weird because I have hardly seen even one cloud that would interrupt solar power generation. Wind is often strong too. So much energy just lying around.

    Arrived in Piraeus, the port for Athens, and took an island hopping ferry ride that ended on Crete. Unknown to me at the time I would spend the next two weeks on this Greek island.

    P.S. What’s with all the Freda Kahlo? She was Mexican as I recall. For my money I’ll go with Georgia O’Keeffe instead if I wanted to make a statement.
    Read more