Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Homeward bound...

    September 22, 2022 in Morocco ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    Actually didn't sleep that well last night. Well - by recent standards anyway...

    After breakfast, I spend an hour warming my bones in the morning sunshine. Check-out time is midday. As ever, I pack quickly, and by 12:01, I'm sitting in the bar with a glass of wine. My car's not due till 15:00, so I have time to rinse the vin blanc. After a pleasant lunch, it's time to head off.

    During the drive to Menara Airport, I notice for the first time just how many 4G masts there are around Marrakech. It's the primary means for folks to get online here, so I guess not that surprising. What does make me smile is when I notice that many of the masts are disguised as palm trees. Not particularly effectively, but A+ for effort.

    The airport is a bit chaotic, but not disastrously so. The departure lounge is actually pretty good. I find a little French style café selling half bottles of white wine, and settle in to write this blog post.

    My reflections of Morocco are overwhelmingly positive. I've met many genuine and warm people, and whilst the centre of Marrakech is a sensory assault, it's one that I enjoy immensely. I'll return for sure - not least because Vicki has never been, and I'm sure it'll be a black-mark in my copybook unless that's rectified. There's also so much more of Marrakech to explore. I think on a return journey I'd stay in a city-centre Riad, at least for part of the trip. Palmeraie is great, and if pool/sunshine/chill is your priority, then the right place to stay. Maybe a 50/50 split would work best.

    Well - that's it for now. Thanks for reading my random ramblings. It's gonna be a long hard wait until my next trip to Las Vegas and California...
    Read more