Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    I wandered lonely as a cloud.....

    June 8, 2018 in England ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    Wordsworth and all that. Wordsworth’s house, Dove Cottage, and his grave are here in Grasmere. It’s a gorgeous little tourist town, a bit “Cockington Green” like. Lots of galleries, craft shops, cafes and outdoor shops. Very relaxing day, late breakfast, washing, shopping and generally taking it easy.

    I’m not sure about the defibrillator in the old phone box; is it for elderly tourists or exhausted walkers?

    The sheep we have been seeing and hearing are Herdwicks, local indigenous sheep (they’ve been here since the 12th century), that apparently play a big role in maintaining the Lakes District environment. Beatrix Potter was a big fan of “Herdies”, she was President of the Herdwick Sheep Breeders Society when she wasn’t writing about Peter Rabbit.

    The town is also famous for its ginger bread, great stuff. I bought some but I don’t think it will last until I get home and I’m not sure I’d be allowed to bring it in anyway.

    Group photo courtesy of Angela, taken on our way up, (and up) yesterday.
    Read more