Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    That's a Wrap

    December 8, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    .. annnnd we're done!
    That was the biggest group I've travelled with and had to help organize. A group that size, obviously has its pros and cons. It's harder to keep in touch, be on the same page, cater for all styles and preferences... but when it works, it's lots of fun to share the experience with more. More sharing is more fun right? Well, most of the time, sort of!
    Ultimately, I think most of the group would agree the cruise itself was a little underwhelming, but I'm sure everyone still enjoyed themselves as a whole. I think my brothers found the experience of travelling with kids as challenging as it was rewarding. Just wait until they have two! ha-ha. It was certainly a further step up for Nat and I having the duo, compared to our trip with Ryland in 2020. We did get a little practice in Queensland in July this year, and I gotta say we coped better and better as we got used to it this time round, finding better ways to manage and strategies. It was still no cake walk, but I expect it gets easier as the kids grow, and we all gather experience.
    Overall, I still loved the trip, it refreshed my passion for travel and made me remember that adventure actually isn't that hard. We can all do more than we think, easier than we think. There's still plenty ahead for us to do. I'm not sure cruising with young kids is the way to go but travelling with them is so rewarding. If we can swing it among moving into our new home next year, perhaps a couple weeks in QLD or Perth or SE Asia, and maybe 2024 Japan would be great. I do miss Europe but that may have to wait a while
    For now, reflecting on this trip.. what were the best experiences... here's a top 5 -

    5. Waiheke Island, Auckland
    My second trip to this place. We spontaneously decided to return here with Brody, Alyssa and Myles on our stop at Auckland. We were a little rushed for time, but still managed to hoof it from the ferry to Oneroa and back. It's a gorgeous island with great beaches, cafes and wineries.

    4. Waiomio Glow Worm Caves
    The cruise tour here wasn't great, but it was a memorable experience to see a place like this. I've been to plenty of caves before, without ever seeing glow-worms, and so many of them! (not my photo as none permitted - but an example of how they look)

    3. Zealandia & Wellington
    I was really impressed with Wellington. I loved the city and hilly surrounds, and our few hours at the hilltop bird sanctuary Zealandia there, was a great start to the day. I also loved the walk from there, through the hilly suburbs to the tram, and a whirlwind visit of te Papa Museum on the waterfront.

    2. Rotorua
    A bit of a unique experience seeing erupting geysers, bubbling mud and volcanic landscape different to other places I had visited. A little Mouri culture and getting up close with Kiwis added to the experience.

    1. Hobbiton.
    Despite being a fan of the Lord of the Rings (and similar franchises/games etc) I was a little reserved in my expectations of this place, expecting it to be touristy and gimmicky. My expectations were definitely exceeded, and it was a lot of fun to immerse ourselves in this place. The weather, detail and quality of the set really felt like stepping into a fantasy world. A great day.

    That's it for now. Until our next adventure!
    Read more