Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Leverkusen

    November 8, 2015 in Germany ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    Leverkusen. Industry, industry, industry. And I think they also have a football team.

    Between the campsite and Leverkusen I didn't make any stops. I did, however, make a lot of U turns. I followed the Rhein for a good hour, and then things became a little complicated. Emerging from a woods, I presumed the river was to my right, where it was the last time I'd seen it. But, as I was in the woods, it had taken a 90 degree turn of which I was unaware. I was lost, basically. And became even more lost as I tried to un-lose myself. I went round in circles for a good hour, riding several kilometers in one direction before changing course and heading several kilometers in a different direction. This was by far the worst part of the ride. The sun was beginning to show signs of fading, and I had all but given up reaching Cologne. I was more concerned with how I was going to get back to Düsseldorf from the middle of nowhere. Then, at last, I found the Rhein with Leverkusen in my sights.

    I crossed over the river at Leverkusen, then spent 30 minutes riding along side a Ford plant. I passed three train stations: Ford works north, Ford works and Ford works south. The place was enormous, miles and miles of factory.

    Then, after Leverkusen, after the Ford plant, I was back alongside the Rhein and closing in on Cologne.
    Read more