Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Tag 29

    Boots or shoes - the struggle is real!

    27. August 2022 in Kanada ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    So, what do you walk the Camino in? Hiking boots? Hiking shoes? Running shoes? Trail shoes? Sandals? Gortex (waterproof), or not? This is one of the most discussed things on Camino forums (next to foot care, blisters, backpacks and how much to carry - or transport!). There are more answers than pilgrims.

    Common questions revolve around what season you are walking, what route, and how far on said route. Do you want a barefoot minimalist style or one that has a good drop? What does this even mean?? Each route has different terrain which may allow you to choose one over the other. If you are walking in winter you may want a boot to keep you warmer and possibly a waterproof shoe. If you are walking in spring or fall, you may want a hiking shoe or trail runner. Possibly waterproof as it tends to rain a lot in Galicia. Walking in summer? Maybe you only want a sandal of some sort. Buy hey - sandals are good anytime, right? Especially with socks! 🤣😂. The Camino is likely the only place on earth that everyone wears socks with sandals - and gets away with the look! Finally - most advice is to size up - up to 1 1/2 sizes more than your usual size. Because fat swollen feet won’t go into your regular size shoe or boot.

    I read blogs, FB posts and articles until I was cross eyed. I made two important decisions before heading to the shops. 1) I did NOT want a boot or heavy hiking shoe. Every pound on your feet is equal to an additional 5 on your back. No thanks! I wanted something lightweight and comfy. 2) I did NOT want a GTX shoe. Waterproof is all good for light rain, shallow puddles, mud etc. But they are not fabulous for heavy downpours. Water will usually find its way in if you are walking for hours in the rain, or step in a deep puddle. Then what? You swim in your shoes. And this will lead to blister (more people do not complete their Camino due to blisters than for any other reason!). Think about waterproofing - it works in reverse too, and doesn’t let water out. It can take days to dry waterproof shoes. So, I hit the stores with the sole purpose (pun intended!) of looking for trail shoes. Simple, right? Not.

    I have weird feet. Huge big toes and osteoarthritis in the joints of the big toes. Looks like I have bunions on the tops of my toes. And did I mention that they don’t bend back! This can make walking a challenge, if not downright impossible with the wrong shoes. I have more than once had to take off shoes and walk barefoot. But this won’t be possible on my Camino, so I had better get it right the first time!

    I tried on approx 18-20 pairs of trail shoes, over 6 or 7 stores the first time. Due to my weird feet, I found a shoe with a big “drop” won’t work for me. This is the difference between the heel and toe. Can be up to 14mm, but 5-6mm is fairly standard. For me, this means I am placing more weight on my toes (since they are on the lower end of the drop). Not happening. I found the zero drop shoes worked beautifully for me as it is basically the same as walking barefoot -no difference between heel and toes. In the end, I kept going back to the Altra Lone Peak 5SE, 1/2 size up from what I usually buy. What’s a couple hundred bucks for something can make or break my Camino? In all my training walks, I have had one minor blister and zero toe issues! I still wasn’t convinced though and went through the whole process again in July when getting my second pair of shoes. I did change…I have a brand new pair of Altra lone Peak 6s waiting for me 😉. These babies fit like a glove, are cushy and have a rock plate to help decrease the feel of stones under my feet. Time will tell if I made the right choice or not!

    This is just my personal choice and I know plenty of people who bought them and ended up hating them when they started training. But there is no one right answer. Because the answer depends on you. On YOUR feet.

    Just to change it up, I also have a pair of Columbia trekking sandals. And yes, I will break my own rule and I will wear socks with them. Because I sure don’t want blisters ruining my walk! Gotta look after our feet if we want to get anywhere!
    Weiterlesen