Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Biarritz to St. Jean Pied de Port, Fr.

    April 23, 2018 in France ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    The start of the Camino. Tomorrow is a 17 mile walk mostly up hill and down the other side of the Pyrenees into Spain. I awoke this morning in Biarritz and found some breakfast...a croissant and an espresso, typical for here it seems but it worked. I made my way into the center of town and met up with two women from Denmark who were headed to the same place, joined them and made my way here around 1pm. So, St Jean Pied de Port....an amazing town. Lots of outdoor cafe’s. I went to the Pilgrim office, got my passport validated, checked into the municipal alberge, bought a walking stick and checked out the town. I had dinner tonight with my bunk mates from the Netherlands, Italy and France....a “pilgrims meal” which is a high protein inexpensive meal that is commonly served along the way. A shower next, organize my pack and to bed. Almost 9pm here. Thank you everyone for checking in! A special thanks to Damian Brockway for all his help with cameras and technical stuff!Read more