Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Navarrete to Najera

    May 3, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    Hola from Najera, Spain! I left the Albergue at around 0715 this morning...first stop...a cafe for breakfast. After a breakfast of fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee and a ham & cheese croissant and a stop at the town fountain to fill my water bottle...I was off. The hike to Najera was blustery and partly sunny....a bit cold but I am prepared for any weather so not a problem. The hike took me through mostly vineyards but did add the occasional path with a never ending hill just to remind you who is the boss. I arrived in Najera around 1pm and stopped into a cafe for lunch...a chorizo & egg bocadillo and a coke. I arrived in town and decided to get a small hotel instead of an albergue. A hotel is more expensive but you have a private room and a bathroom instead of a bunk room and shared facilities in an albergue. Also, albergues have lots of rules...lights out at 10pm..lights on at 7am...bunk rooms, so it is difficult to sleep...that type of thing. My hotel tonight is the best yet...a great room and bed and a bathtub! Heaven on the Camino! Tomorrow I set out for Santo Domingo...a 14 mile hike. That’s all from Najera for now...hope all is well!Read more