Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Last day in Portugal to Home

    May 24, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 7 °C

    As I write this it is 6:30 am on Friday. I have just cleared security at the airport here in Porto and am just waiting to board at 0800. By the time anyone reads this, I will be somewhere over the Atlantic. Yesterday was a rainy day in Porto so I didn’t do a whole lot. I cleared the hostel I stayed at the night before and booked a private room in a pensione that offered an airport shuttle. Of course, not really knowing the neighborhoods in Porto, it ended up being in a run down residential part of town...but what can you expect for $25? Actually, once I got into the place it was actually very nice and clean on the inside. To top it all off, there was no reception so I was let in by another guest and had to communicate via email to get the shuttle service arranged. But, the guy showed up at 0530 this morning and got me to the airport, so it all worked out. I will arrive in Boston at 1:20 after an 11 hour flight time....a bus to Portland where Connor will pick me up...hopefully, it all goes smoothly. This will be my last post in the blog. I very much appreciate everyone following me and commenting...it has made the trip much easier with the almost daily interaction with everyone. I have included a few photos of my last day in Porto. Take care and I will see you all soon.Read more