Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Melbourne

    January 31, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 111 °F

    Day 26
    Melbourne is known for its artsy, food and coffee scene, it actually kind of reminded me a little of New York City. I spent the morning walking around the city and visited the streets that are famous for their art graffiti. It was mid morning and the temperature was already 102 degrees (it wasn’t a humid hot though so it didn’t feel that bad), so in order to cool off I stopped at a museum. I went back to the hostel to eat lunch and met up with Melina (she went to Melbourne the day before I did so we got to hang out more) and we got a train to Brighton Beach which is famous for all it’s painted bathing boxes. As we were walking to the beach it started down pouring but luckily we found coverage at a bus stop where we waited out the rain. It only rained for about 15 minutes and then the skies cleared right up. It was such a pretty walk on the beach looking at the different painted boxes and there was a beautiful view of Melbourne city. We headed back to the city and went to St. Kilda and grabbed dinner and then went to Federal Square in the city center where the Australian Open was being projected on a big screen. I was in Melbourne for the semi finals and finals so it was a fun scene. The game ended around 11pm so we went to bed right afterwards.

    Day 27
    It was a Saturday so I went to Queen Victoria Markets which had souvenirs and fresh fruit from local farmers at a very good price. It was very busy and locals were there with baskets getting their fruits and veggies for the week. I got 2 avocados, a mango, and cherry tomatoes for $6 AUS, it was a steal. It was a rainy day so Melina and I went to a museum and looked around for a couple hours and then we stopped and grabbed some food. Melbourne is the type of place you can experience all season in one week or even one day. It ended up being 110 degrees my first full day and the next it was probably 50 and raining. It was the first place I have been since landing in Australia that I was able to wear my hair down without it doubling in size from humidity. We went back to the hostel, I showered and booked some things for my trip and went to bed early because I had to get up early for a day trip the following day.
    Read more