Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Margaret River

    February 8, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 59 °F

    Day 34
    The guys woke up early to ride their motorbikes and us girls made brekkie and then got dressed to go out for the morning. We drove down to the beach, the water was incredible. When most people visit Australia they do the east coast beaches, which are beautiful, but I think the west coast beaches are a must see as well. We spent some time walking on the rocks and taking pictures and then went into town to pick up alcohol for pregaming. We stopped at Vasse Felix winery to do a wine tasting before going back to the campground. Tegan and Catherine’s 3 other coworkers came to pregame with us before the concert. The campground had a giant trampoline on the grounds which the guys stopped to flip on before we walked over to the concert. There were 2 bands that everyone was interested in seeing and they were the last acts of the day. When we arrived it was still light out and there was a more chill, relaxed vibe going on. When it got dark and the big acts came on, the crowd went wild, it was like a mosh pit and it really wasn’t fun to be a part of. When Grinspoon was on stage Tegan and I were in the front row, it was pouring out and people kept knocking into us and elbowing us. There was a guy next to us that seemed to be keeping an eye on us because at one point we were really getting knocked around. The overall concert was good, not really my type of music but concerts are always fun and I was happy that the place wasn’t filled with tourists. After the concert we walked back to the cabin and one of the guys came on a walk with me to try and see a wild kangaroo since it was a campground and they should be everywhere. Once again I had no luck seeing any, over a month in Australia and still no wild kangaroo seen. It became the joke of the weekend and I said that at that point I would settle for seeing a dead one on the side of the road. We went back to the cabin and all went to bed.

    Day 35
    Everyone got up early and after cleaning up they left. Tegan and I hung back and finished packing and checked out. My flight to Auckland, New Zealand was at 6:50pm and Tegan was nice enough to drive me to the airport. Tegan had to stop at her coworkers house to pick something up which was somewhat on the way. We stopped at the Busselton Jetty (the longest timber-piled jetty in the southern hemisphere) on the water and there was a marathon that had just finished so it was buzzing with people. We grabbed lunch and then went to pick up everything. On our drive to the airport we saw a couple of dead kangaroos on the side of the road but no live ones, so I left Australia not seeing a single wild one which shocked everyone I told. Tegan helped me bring my bags into the airport when we arrived and helped me to weigh my bags. It was such an incredible weekend, one of my favorites in Australia because it was away from tourists and was a lot of fun. I am so glad I agreed to go on a road trip with complete strangers. I can’t wait to come back to Australia and do a west coast road trip with my new friends.
    Read more