Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Akshardham Swaminarayan, New Delhi

    September 24, 2016 in India ⋅ 🌫 27 °C

    I really can't complain about my flight. I don't mind the redeye at all. Arrived in Delhi at 12:30am , hint ( if you did an online etourist visa like I did, go straight to the etourist line ) breezed through customs, driver was waiting for me, got to the hotel around 2:15am. Shower and Bed! Awoke at 9am, at the beautiful Vivanta by Taj Hotel where I wolfed down a Devine breakfast! Too hungry for pics! Then after a nice shower , we were off. We were greated with malas (flower necklaces) by our driver and then taken to see the most magnificent Temple Akshardham, SwamiNarayan. This temple can take several hours to tour, it is grand in every way. The temple took 5 years and 70,000 craftsmen to complete it! Cameras were not allowed, we had to check them in with security. For around $3 we took a 2 hour guided tour of the temple, worth it's weight in gold. I ended my tour with Arthi and prayers, which was the highlight of my Day! We arrived back at the Hotel just in time for a most scrumptious Indian feast! TOMORROW BEGINS OUR OFFICIAL START TO OUR TOURS!!Read more