Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Pamplona

    May 18, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌩️ 15 °C

    Twenty four hours in Pamplona. We walked in to Pamplona around 3pm yesterday and left around the same time this afternoon, by bus to Jaca.

    Pamplona holds significant memories for me and for The French. My first time here was on Day 3 of my first Camino - the Camino Frances - in 2011. My second time was with my dear friend and Camino ‘amiga’ Jill when we walked the Camino Frances together in 2013.

    My third time was in May 2014, after walking about 900 kms from Le Puy en Velay. The last 10 days or so I’d walked most of the time with a Frenchman. Pamplona was my last stop before returning to Australia. He was walking on to Santiago. We had dinner at Cafe Iruna, along with two Swiss pilgrims. I wished The Frenchman and the Swiss pilgrims a buen camino for their continuing journey. And did not imagine I’d see any of them again.

    My fourth time in Pamplona was in May 2016, again after walking about 900 kms, this time on the Camino Arles and Aragones - and with The Frenchman. It was exactly two years to the day since that first evening at Cafe Iruna. A lot had happened in that two years.

    When we arrived in Pamplona yesterday afternoon, after dropping off our backpacks at our hostal, our first stop was Plaza del Castillo to enjoy an apero at Cafe Iruna in the late afternoon sunshine - Spanish way.

    So a photo there … and a few other random snaps of Pamplona. ❤️
    Read more