Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Day 16 Larassoana to Pamplona, taxi

    October 16, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    This update comes from our comfortable hotel room in the heart of Pamplona old town, home for today and tomorrow. I have a sore right knee - too sore to walk for now. I’m not entirely sure of the cause, but I think it was through over stretching. I’ve been vigilant with stretching ankles, calves and legs generally, particularly to prevent shin splints which I am prone to. All was going well, with no problems since we began walking on the 1st.

    On Friday night in SJPP, I was lying in bed extending my legs when I felt a twinge behind my right knee. Ouch, I thought, that was probably a bit too much of a stretch, but I didn’t give it much more thought. The next morning when we set out at 7am for the Napoleon Route across The Pyrenees, my knee felt a bit dodgy but I soon warmed up and I hoped all would be well. Two days and more than 50 kms later …

    We decided to take a taxi the 16 kms to Pamplona this morning - not as easy as it sounds to get a taxi from Larrasoana, but we worked it out and arrived by 9.30. Some great good fortune with our hotel. We’ve stayed here before - in May this year. We arrived and told our sorry tale to the very kind senora. Did they have a room for two nights and is there any possibility that it would be available now (check in is usually at 3-00)? She told us it may be possible as yesterday they were not full. She did some nifty work on her booking system and, voila, we were in our room by 10.

    Then a short walk (hobble for me) for desayuno at a nearby cafe, a visit to the farmicia, and back to the hotel - time for me to rest. We are both hoping that taking two days here will do the trick.

    The French has been wonderfully supportive and patient, as always. And while I rest up, he’s going to take the opportunity to do all our laundry. That’s a silver lining for sure. The other is that I’ve surprised myself at how unfazed I am by this setback. Not at all like me. Especially suggesting a two day break rather than one. As Domi reminded me - we have plenty of time and no schedule for this camino, and we hope to be able to walk the next 700 kms. Fingers crossed. 🙏
    Read more