Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Day 9 • Il Barrag Farmhouse B&B, Nadur

    March 30 in Malta ⋅ 🌬 21 °C

    Here on Gozo, it’s beginning to feel like ‘Déjà vu … all over again’.

    Some reading this post might recall that late last year, while on what was supposed to be a 1,000 km walk, I had knee trouble that put an end to that - specifically a stress fracture in my right knee (and later a meniscus tear in my left but that’s another story). After months of doing very little, some of it on crutches, it seemed that the fracture had healed, confirmed by a scan. I started building up exercise, walking a little more and all was going well.

    On this holiday, I’ve been prudent, or so I thought. But a few days ago my right knee started bothering me … a little at first, but more so now. I know from experience where that can lead and I do fear a refracture. So I’ll be taking it easy until we fly back to Marseille on the 2nd April, and hoping a few days’ rest in the meantime will help to get me to our next destination and then home without too much drama.

    I’m encouraging The French to explore a little more in coming days and I can share some of his photos - in the meantime here are some of our digs, a restored (400 year old) farmhouse B&B in the small town of Nadur.

    After two nights here, we will make our way back to Malta Island to Rabat / Mdina for another two nights. Thankfully we’ve already had a short visit to the Mdina and The French will have time for a longer visit which he’s keen to do. The good news is that we’ve pretty much seen everything that was high on our list so, while this is a frustrating development, there is no sense of missing out.

    And our host tells us that the Easter procession on Sunday morning will pass along the narrow street right by our front door. Our room has a small balcony on to the street, so we may not even need to leave the room to see it.

    l-Għid it-Tajjeb. That’s Happy Easter in Maltese. 😎
    Read more