Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    I have a dream

    October 28, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Right across from the Coca Cola museum, seeing kids throw a football in the middle of a beautiful park, you'll see the Center for Civil and Human Rights. It looks small in comparison with the aquarium or the World of Coca Cola, but never judge a book by its cover.
    If I was to sum up that place in one word it would be: Damn...
    In my life I think I've had some contrasts. I grew up with money, then we lost it but never struggled. Then I headed to Spain where I became an illegal citizen before swearing to honor the king and suddenly I was Spanish.
    I'm Mexican living in a country of white Europeans that clearly know that I'm not from there. You get used to it but you never do.
    In this museum you could clearly see the contraste between being white and being black in the USA, a contrast we all think we "understand" but don't care to read more about it.
    The exhibit is set up in a way that all the strong content and words are easily digestible. It's a gut wrenching experience where you can put on some headphones and be insulted for 2 minutes so you can feel what it was like to silent protest. This happened less than 60 years ago!
    People suffered beatings and death just to make sure that everyone had equal justice, insane things like having a coffee anywhere, being able to get married outside your race.
    Uncanny, it really was.
    And yeah, the other day they invaded the Capitol and Spain isn't getting any better. But seeing what an entire nation was able to do kind of gave me hope.
    Read more