Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Emporio

    July 13, 2019 in Greece ⋅ 26 °C

    On the airplane, the comedown started to get worse and worse, I was dehydrated and weak, I thought I was dying and that if I told them or had a check up I’d end up in prison. A couple sat next to me, I told the Irish guy, I need some help and he asked me what’s up, and he somehow asked if it was drug related like he already knew, I was upfront with him and told him and thankfully he was experienced with it and just told me to relax and rest. The flight attendant gave me some sugar water too. I closed my eyes and when I opened we already arrived. I was quite dazed and the realization set in that I had no internet with the worst hangover and comedown and had to somehow find my way to my host’s address. It was overwhelming and my emotions were all over the place, I was getting brain zaps and was crashing hard. The girl took my hand and reassured me while the guy took their things, they called my host and also gave me their number just in case. I also exchanged some money, the guy behind the counter was extremely kind. The couple helped me buy my bus ticket and off I went. The bus driver kindly let me know that this was my stop and I changed to another bus, and went down in Emporio. I was lost. I tried to ask another couple by the cafe for some directions but they couldn’t speak English and had no internet. I also didn’t have the address just some basic landmarks. I made my way up the hill, a maze of white houses. Went to a bathroom near the church and puked on the gardens. Made my way up and up until I saw a familiar landmark, the souvenir shop Stavros mentioned, my host in Santorini. I stumbled my way unsure if it was the right place or not but there was another couchsurfer that was just leaving. If I hadn’t been there in that moment, I would have missed her and gotten lost the whole day and probably lose my sanity as well. She helped me get settled in and gave me the wifi password. I pretty much just crashed on the sofa, got up to take a dump and went straight back to sleep.

    Sometime soon, Stavros arrived and I was feeling a bit better. He gave me a joint, and I smoked it while he went away. When I had some energy, I went out and explored a bit, there were donkeys on the rooftop and the neighborhood was really beautiful and peaceful. At night, I ate some leftover food from the fridge and some oranges. I threw the pills away to give it to the cat outside but it ran. I slept again right after, woken up by Stavros entering the house in the middle of the night, his silhouette scared me since I was half asleep.
    Read more