Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Cairo IV

    July 22, 2019 in Egypt ⋅ 32 °C

    Khalid said he would come with me to the train station as I had to buy my tickets to Luxor. He wasn’t there with me as he overslept so I had to go at it alone. It was chaotic, people were just cutting in line and even while I was already talking to the clerk, people would just butt in constantly, I couldn’t believe it. The clerk was really nice though but I was told that the trains are for Egyptians only and I had to purchase the luxury ones for foreigners and they were very expensive. I was quite lost as I really needed to get to Luxor. Luckily, I was in contact with my friend Nuri on Couchsurfing. We had never met before but she pointed me out to the night bus. Go Bus it was called, she really saved my life and a lot of time. I was able to go back home and book it and waited until night time. Khalid and his friends came by and had some tea, I almost lost the keys and had him worries but I found it and gave it back and said our good byes. Brother he called me. I waited for a long time in the bus stop, I met three guys as well who helped me look for the actual bus terminal. A guy took my things and placed it in the bus and had the gall to ask for baksheesh, a tip in Muslim culture, I still gave it to him. The overnight bus had really comfortable seats and it was cool, I slept.Read more