Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Alexandria II

    July 26, 2019 in Egypt ⋅ 30 °C

    I woke up, got showered and headed out with Omar. He told me about his biking club, the Healthkeepers and that we could meet up later for lunch. I walked around the city, it was serene. I sat on one of the benches and just let time pass, completely at peace. I went to a park and watched some people play table tennis, and people-watched down the beach below, it was fun to watch how the dogs interacted with one another. Omar sent me a message on where to meet-up and off I went, I was able to see the whole bike club and took a picture with them. We all went inside this nice cozy restaurant and I sat next to Rowan and Mahmoud. I told them my story so far in Egypt and they really liked Saber's story from Luxor.

    After lunch, I parted ways with the group and went off to meet with Richard once again. This time his girlfriend Radwa was there. Both of them are really nice people and the conversations we shared were super interesting. Radwa left us after awhile and Richard told me their story, I call them starcrossed lovers as Radwa's family wasn't the best kind and kept her tight on a leash, Richard converted to Islam just to be with her, he really wants to take her away from Egypt as Radwa was also quite fluent in Czech so I could only wish them well. Soon, it was time for me to go, I got to meet with Mina again and both he and Richard rode the tram with me to see me off, they accompanied me all the way to the jeep and gave me some money as I fumbled for change so I wouldn't miss my bus. I had to get on another jeep, I gave the driver a bill and sat down. One of the passengers asked if I got my change and when I answered I didn't, everyone on the jeep started yelling at the driver so the driver gave me my change. Thanks people! I was able to catch my bus going back to Cairo without any problems thanks to everyone's help.

    PS: Richard and Radwa now live together in Czech, they are quite happy and I am very much elated that they got their happy ending.
    Read more