Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Teotihuacán

    April 24, 2021 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    A bit more rested, but still a bit jetlag. I woke up earlier than usual and heard the numerous birds singing outside. I did some Kundalini yoga and meditation before showering and heading out. I hailed an Uber going to Teotihuacan. What an excellent morning it was, with cool and fresh air and nice beats in the taxi, I saw Mexico as it is again with my own eyes and can't help but compare it to the Philippines as they are quite similar. It was a long ride to Teotihuacan and I stopped by the gates and was pointed to a tourist center.

    There was a woman here who showed me around the area and taught me about several aspects of Teotihuacan. She showed me a plant that I've seen around town and that they can use its fiber to create other things, she showed me different colored obsidian as it was one of their main crafts. I was also given a Mexican breakfast, different shots of tequilas from cactus infused and fruits, they were quite delicious not gonna lie but it was too early to be getting drunk. She taught me about the Mexican hairless dog and how they were guides for the people in the afterlife. All in all, quite informative. I gave her a tip and headed on to the pyramids.

    Fortunately, it was empty with just a few other tourists around. I took my time exploring the place. I lowkey also got scammed in picking out a obsidian necklace for Janelle but at the same time, I knew the guy wasn't getting anything sold with the decline of tourists so I just gave it to him. I walked around the pyramids, quite grand and an amazing spectacle. After going around, I wanted to exchange the necklace for a different one but he wanted to charge me more so I walked away but he ended up giving it to me anyway, nice of him. I explored the rest of the sacred grounds, and gave a guy some coins to take a photo of me with the other pyramid. I was quite satisfied and walked on back but not before being approached by some guys on a bike which I ended up getting on to go to a restaurant as I was quite starving for some more Mexican food.

    The restaurant was quite unique, it was inside a cave and the food was a bit more pricey but delicious nevertheless. I made my way out and had to do a longer walk but was able to get another Uber going to a train station that Pacho told me to go to as that's where we were meeting. I got to the station and we went to a park, there were a lot of interesting monuments and happenings around, a popular castle was there as well but it was closed on that day. I got a henna tattoo while Pacho's friend came by. All three of us walked together to see other cool buildings and we ended up in the district where all the rich Mexicans hanged out, the disparity was quite evident in terms of lifestyle and material possessions and even skin tone. We had a nice dinner at a salad restaurant before heading back to Pacho's place. It started to rain too but we got home fine. At night, I watched Seaspiracy with Pacho and his mom which gave me a lot to think about regarding marine life and my role on this planet.
    Read more