Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Habarana

    June 8, 2022 in Sri Lanka ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    The train was so hot and cramped at first, I was worried if I was gonna make it at this rate but as the windows opened and everyone got settled in, the temperature became much more manageable. Still, it was a non-airconditioned train ride so I was really getting the full local experience. I thought I was lucky enough to be seated next to the window but as it turns out I had the alley seat as someone else took it. The train ride was overall pretty pleasant, it also got a bit boring as I was conserving my battery and listening to some tunes. It got a bit more fun when I discovered I could sit by the train doors with a nice view of the country side and feeling that fresh breeze. Time passed by and soon the sun was setting beyond the horizon of the fields and mountains and it made the train ride absolutely worth it. I started to get a bit angsty as night settled in, I was hungry and thirsty but still had a couple of more hours before Habarana. I was in contact with Lasantha, the owner of the homestay I had booked in Agoda.

    After some grueling hours of waiting, I finally touched down in Habarana and Lasantha was right there waiting for me. Habarana at this time was pitch black, it was provincial and even less developed than Colombo but in this case, this was a good thing as it is much closer to nature. Lasantha drove me to his home where I was showed my room which also didn't have air-condition much to my dismay. We talked a bit at the veranda outside while I waited for dinner which was all Sri Lankan cuisine. I was so hungry, I chowed down and ate as much as I can while we got our plans in place for the days ahead. It also turned out that they did have an air-conditioned room that I had to pay a bit of extra for to which I obviously did. Now with this, I was quite satisfied and finally ready to unwind and rest.
    Read more