Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Apia, Samoa

    December 14, 2022 in Samoa ⋅ ☁️ 29 °C

    We walked from the ship to the beautiful blue church we saw from the ship. It is the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception. (Some people on the ship said it was a Methodist church. I suspected otherwise, but didn't want to argue.). Mass was in progress, so we stayed until the end. There was a wonderful breeze going through the church. I had to sit after awhile, because the kneelers were wood, and my sweaty knees combined with the sunblock made me slide around. The singing was beautiful. The ceiling is wooden- intricate designs, and the stained glass windows on either side of the church depicted the Stations of the Cross.

    We went in search of a grocery store for the purpose of picking up cans or bottles of Diet Coke or Coke Zero for Wayne. We stopped at McDonald's- iced coffee for me, and DC for the Big Guy. We finally found a grocery- interesting- lots of rice and canned corned beef, and just about anything else you could need or want- except no sugar Coke. I found sarongs- $10 Samoa (less than $4 US). I bought a bunch.

    It was hot, so we caught a taxi back to the ship. Our driver, Leo, got us inside the gate-as far as any vehicle could go. He was so nice.

    All the people were lovely. A lady in the grocery store helped me with the sarongs, and the check-out lady thanked us for shopping in the store.
    Read more