Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Versailles

    March 2 in France ⋅ 🌧 8 °C

    We headed to the Metro near our place, and a very nice young woman at the ticket office figured out a route for us-- easier than the one I'd conjured. We went from Nation to Alma -Marcrau on the #9 Meto, then transferred to the train which took us to Versailles. We stopped at a little shop for croissants and bevs, and I found an umbrella for €7. Of course I had one in my luggage- and a rain jacket as well- but did I bring them with me?

    We stood in a line and spoke with a nice couple from Belfast- and then found out we were in the wrong line.

    That put us closer to the beginning of the line we were supposed to be in, and we waited in that one instead. When our turn came, we toured through the Chateau. So many portraits! I wonder how many gallons of paint and linseed oil, and how many miles of canvas.

    After the Chateau, we took a stroll through the gardens- the drizzly day provided a view of what the Impressionists would truly have related to .

    We returned to the area near the train station and picked up gloves, and Wayne got a cap. (Did I mention it was chilly?). Then back to the Madeleine Cafe where we had some sandwiches for lunch before boarding the train back to our place.

    We found a Lidl down the block and around a corner and picked up some snacks. Then back to the room where we tried in vain to get the TV to work🤷‍♀️.

    (Also- we figured out that our "apartment" had been a pest removal service.)
    Read more