Satélite
Exibir no mapa
  • Dia 34

    Dakar, Senegal

    2 de abril, Senegal ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    We picked quite a day to visit Dakar. The new president was installed today, and we encountered motorcades and all types of interesting things. It seemed that all of Senegal came to Dakar today.
    Our first stop was the cathedral. From the outside it looks like a mosque- but inside, very Catholic. Beautiful windows, and a lovely organ.
    We headed to a market that had lots of interesting things- and I suddenly realized that I don't need anything- and that I don't want to saddle my kids with "stuff." I saw gorgeous totes- but I have way too many totes.

    There was a visit to a small fishing village where the Chief greeted us, and the ladies (representing the numerous wives that the tribal chiefs had in years gone by) danced for us. I loved watching their kids emulating the dance.

    There is a HUGE monument to African Renaissance. Very impressive.
    We stopped outside the largest mosque in Dakar- and then got tied up in more traffic as we passed the Presidential Palace.

    We were ready to get back to the ship. I was tired and skipped dinner.
    Leia mais