Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 68

    PETTiROSSO - great food in Kyoto

    May 17, 2019 in Japan ⋅ 🌙 20 °C

    (This is not an ad, simply a recommendation!)
    Ok, I herewith publicly admit it. I can be quite a nuisance when it comes to travel planning. I like picking up info leaflets, read blogs, follow instagram accounts and read guidebooks. It's time extensive and sometimes I'm way too obsessed. As mentioned yesterday, everyone should make time to simply explore. Wander aimlessly without an agenda. And I do that, too!
    But then I read about places like "Pettirosso", a small restaurant/ modern style izakaya that offers fish, vegetarian and vegan dishes made from local ingredients delivered from trusted farmers. And I'm intrigued. And when we got there for dinner tonight, I was glad that I had read about it. We wouldn't have stumbled across it as it's not super central, but it doesn't have to be. Marc, the owner and a very humble Italian from Milano, has created an awesome little place that immediately reveals its charm. The Mediterranean-Japanese fusion dishes are cooked right in front of the customers on the groundfloor and upstairs offers regular as well as traditional seating areas (tatami mats where you sit on the floor). We chose a vegan and regular dinner set which consisted of a soup, four little tapas, foccacia, salad and the main dish. All of it tasted fabulous! The beverage list features organic wine, as well as local beer and a homade fermented non alcoholic drink, at the moment made of Japanese grapefruit. Delicious!
    Deeply impressed, I started a short conversation with Marc, learning that he has had the restaurant for 1.5years and is part of a vegan/vegetarian, eco friendly local group here in Kyoto. Unfortunately we had to leave and take our bus home, so we couldn't talk much more.
    Nevertheless, I strongly recommend visiting this place, if ever you are in Kyoto! Good food, good company, and clearly led and run by a team who cares.

    https://pettirosso-kyoto.business.site/
    Read more