Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 1

    Best of Both Worlds?

    6 de abril de 2022, Estados Unidos ⋅ ☀️ 64 °F

    I love traveling, but I struggle to digest my daily experiences and share them with folks online when I don't have internet access. Today I found this app, FindPenguins (FP), and it seems promising on both counts.

    Now I can provide daily updates while traveling - because it works offline! Sure, the updates won't be posted until I get Internet access, but that's ok. Oh - and get this: people can view my posts here without needing an account! (And I can also make posts private if I want.)

    I'd like to post on a regular basis while traveling, and to take folks along on the trip with me. What happens when I wait to share road trip journals is that my inner editor decides they all suck, and then it takes forever, or it never gets done.

    Then, before you know it, I'm on another epic trip!

    I was an avid diarist for decades, but the more I used the Internet, the more of a conflict I had between digital journals and paper ones. With it, I can add photos and even short videos with the posts. The app adds cool stuff like maps and weather info. FP even has an option to print out books and/or pdfs from these entries!

    Have I finally found the best of both worlds?

    So I'm taking FP for a test drive. Am I on a trip? Not exactly... but one of my travel mottos is that, "Even Home is a Travel Destination." Travel is a mindset, after all. And since my fabulous sister is coming to visit next month, I am calling this FP trip, "Countdown to Sharona" and I invite you to come along with me!
    Leer más