Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    One Good "Tern"...

    September 1, 2022 in Scotland ⋅ ☀️ 68 °F

    We've popped by Invergordon, Scotland 3 times this summer. This has allowed me to observe the colony of Arctic Terns who nest in the port.

    I saw the terns when they first hatched, again as noisy floofballs, and most recently as fledges! Squee!

    Some were still pestering adults for food, others already seemed to know how to fish, and a few strays were still in floofball stage. The one below called out for fish until an adult came along and fed him.

    In other news, despite having the mildest covid case ever, I find that the hour or so before bed that I usually spend editing photos and writing my travel blog is now being used for sleep. I'll catch up when I can!
    Read more