Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Old Town Dubrovnik

    January 7, 2023 in Croatia ⋅ ☀️ 55 °F

    We are so jet lagged! More so than usual. I blame lingering grief, although I know that wherever my dad is, he’d be happy to see me and Larry traveling.

    I read an article recently that pointed out that even when a loved one dies, our relationship to them continues. I always have Dad in the back of my mind when I travel because he loves to see all my photos.

    Even though he mainly lurked online, he would always tell me how much my photos and travelogues cheered him up. So I am comforted by that thought. I hope he is still lurking on my travel posts, wherever he may be.

    Today we wandered all over Old City Dubrovnik. Although it is a UNESCO World Heritage site, it’s more widely known these days as the setting for Kings Landing in Game of Thrones.

    In fact, when we reached some stairs that were featured in the show, some other tourists began chanting, “Shame! Shame! Shame!” in reference to an infamous scene involving the queen being perp-walked there.

    It took some effort to get our weary selves off the ship, but I think the sun and sea air did us both some good.
    Read more