Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    King David’s Tomb

    January 18, 2023 in Israel ⋅ ☀️ 59 °F

    In the Middle Ages, it was commonly believed that the biblical King David was buried in the same building as the Room of the Last Supper.

    Historians and archaeologists have long since disputed this, but the tradition still holds. So even though King David is not actually buried here, many come here to pray.

    As you can see, men and women can visit the “tomb” by using separate entrances. I didn’t take any photos inside since the small space was crowded with women in prayer.

    The little tomb room features a bookshelf crowded with a variety of religious texts, in case you need inspiration.

    I don’t yet know what’s in the last photo, but I saw similar things at entrances throughout the Walled City, and noticed people touching them as they passed. If you know, please tell me! It’s something I will look up once I get a chance.
    Read more