Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    World’s Oldest Bar?

    January 21, 2023 in Jordan ⋅ ☀️ 63 °F

    We ate lunch at the Petra Guest House Hotel. I love Middle Eastern food, and the hummus here was phenomenal.

    Much of the hotel is built into stone. In fact, the bar and courtyard were originally carved by the ancient Nabateans!

    The Cave Bar wasn’t open this early in the day, so I couldn’t peek inside. It bills itself as “the oldest bar in the world,” since it’s housed in an ancient tomb.

    The courtyard and niches on the side were also carved thousands of years ago. Pretty cool that they are still in use.

    As for “Mansafe,” that’s a popular Jordanian dish, “It’s rice, potatoes, herbs, yogurt, and a ton of carbs,” according to Kamal. “So you need a nap after, but it’s really tasty. I like to eat in on the weekend when I can be lazy.”

    The food photos here aren’t the best, but I’m including them as a memory for myself.
    Read more