Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Mumbai Streetlife

    January 30, 2023 in India ⋅ ☀️ 79 °F

    Rather than take an official tour on our first day in Mumbai, Larry and I decided to explore this hectic city on our own.

    Our official mission was to find a pharmacy, but we were quickly distracted by all the hustle and bustle.

    Not only is Mumbai busy, but the traffic is even crazier than Naples, Italy… and that is saying a lot!

    As we stood in a median trying to figure out when to venture forth, the woman standing beside us leaned over and said, “Excuse me, but you are very beautiful.”

    I returned the compliment, for she was gorgeous, and wearing a colorful dress. We chatted a little and then she took my arm as we crossed the street.

    It was a sweet exchange.

    I know why she thinks I’m pretty, though, and I find it funny. It’s because of my pale skin!

    Unlike most places I’ve been, pale skin is revered in India. As someone who’s often been teased about my hue, this came as quite a surprise on my first trip to to this country.

    In India, pale skin means strangers will openly stare at you. Some will sneak photos of you, while others will ask to have a selfie taken with you.

    I caused quite a few double takes during our visit and one man even blew kisses. Hey, after a lifetime of teasing, it’s nice to be queen for a day!

    We never did find a pharmacy, but we enjoyed many sights in this extremely hectic city. I didn’t have any cash on me or I’d have bought a flute from that one guy.

    I don’t know what the man in the striped shirt was selling, but he kept blowing a little horn to attract attention. As for the man on the bike, he is sharpening knives.

    The guy with the big bundle is carrying sugar cane. If I weren’t worried about hygiene, I’d have tried some of the sugar cane drink they sell at stalls throughout the city.

    Sadly, my photos can’t convey the barrage of sounds and smells of Mumbai. The street food smelled good, though.
    Read more