Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Snorkeling in Male

    February 4, 2023 on the Maldives ⋅ ☁️ 81 °F

    We went snorkeling with in Male. So beautiful!

    Hulhumale Watersports Club led the expedition and they did a great job. Not only did they provide all the equipment, but they explained everything very clearly, including which hand signals to use.

    We snorkeled in two different places, and there were at least 3 tour guides in the water with us at all times.

    I mention this, because we have been on snorkel trips before where they did not keep an eye on the group. It’s easy to lose track of which boat is yours, or accidentally float way off track, but these guys were great.

    We saw colorful fish both places we swam. At the first stop, there were clouds of brine shrimp, which I mistook for debris in the water at first.

    At the second stop, we saw sea turtles as well as some black tipped sharks. The sharks made me a bit nervous, but they stayed well away from us.

    Even though it takes energy to swim, I felt so relaxed afterwards, as if I’d had a massage. I did not want the day to end!
    Read more