Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Ylang Ylang Farm

    February 11, 2023 in Madagascar

    We visited a Ylang Ylang farm near Nosy Be, Madagascar. See that tree I’m standing under? It’s Ylang Ylang.

    And see how the trees are hunched over? They are pruned this way so that the blossoms can be picked without a ladder.

    Ylang Ylang blossoms are a lighter green than the leaves, nor do they look like a traditional flower blossom.

    At the entrance to the factory, they had a framed photo of Ghandhi with a wonderful quote, “Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”

    Must confess that we were melting from the heat and humidity at the ylang ylang distillery.

    I much preferred our trek through the neighboring forest, where we saw bananas growing, and so many gorgeous plants.

    I smelled Ylang Ylang everywhere we went that day. It wasn’t until I undressed for a shower back on the ship that I realized I was the culprit; a little sprig of Ylang Ylang blossoms was snagged in my bra strap!
    Read more