Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Boston Lunch with Friends

    April 19, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 50 °F

    Although our ship docked in Newport, Rhode Island today, Larry and I took a bus to Boston so we could visit a couple friends.

    Carol met up with us at the Old Granary Burial Ground, a historic graveyard along Boston’s Freedom Trail.

    To walk the Freedom Trail, you traipse along a brick pathway that takes you from one historic spot to the next, such as the site of the Boston Massacre, and so on. (The Old Granary Burial Ground is also on the trail, but I’ll cover that in another post.)

    At Quincy Market, we met up with another friend. Angel is my go-to consultant for all things Catholic, but this was our first IRL meeting. She’s a blast!

    She was on her lunch break, so she guided us to the heart of Boston’s Little Italy where she’d kindly made reservations for us at a wonderful restaurant.

    There, we enjoyed an Aperol spritz along with handmade pasta. At her suggestion, I had the broccoli rabe, something I’ve only ever seen before in Italy. Bottom line? Yummy!

    After, Angel insisted we visit a place called Modern Pastry. She didn’t have to twist our arms.

    Wow! What a fabulous Italian bakery. I saw cassatina (from Catania), rum baba and sfogliatelle, (two Neapolitan sweets), and even red velvet cupcakes. (I’m not sure where those originate from, but they made me think of Texas.)

    All in all, it was a wonderful meet up in Boston. My only complaint? The time went too quickly!
    Read more