Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Big Apple Surprises

    April 20, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 61 °F

    No sooner did I say, “I wonder if we’ll see the Naked Cowboy,” than he appeared before us. (I love the look on that little girl’s face as her mom yanks her by him.)

    Our friends told us that marijuana was recently legalized here and holy moly, we smelled it all day long, everywhere we went.

    See that guy selling a baggy of pot? There were cops all over the place and they didn’t bat an eye.

    NYC is famous for its rats. My brother joked that maybe I’d see the newly appointed Rat Czar. I did not, but an abandoned lot covered with rat traps caught my eye as we wandered around.

    Since our Romanian pals had never been here, Larry had insisted they try a fresh pretzel from a street cart as well as a knish.

    Another thing we encouraged them to try was NYC’s drinking water. Unlike every other big city I’ve been to, the water here tastes GREAT. This is because it comes straight from the Adirondacks. As a water snob, I was greatly impressed by this when I came here before.
    Read more