Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Juneau Cemetery

    October 4, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 41 °F

    Despite being established during the 1800s, Juneau’s Evergreen Cemetery mainly features flat markers, the kind that are easy to mow over, thus giving it the look and feel of a modern memorial park rather than a Victorian Era burial ground.

    I did find a few upright markers, including several white bronze monuments. I was happy to see some Native American influences, such as the orca and thunderbird.

    There were some intriguing epitaphs, as well. “He was the brightest crayon in the toolbox,” made me wonder. But my favorite epitaph reads, “Summoned by the Great Spirit.”

    I would have spent more time with that one, except that with dusk approaching, a local man stopped to warn us about bears. He said they like the cemetery as a shortcut as much as everyone else does.
    Read more