Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Nagasaki Wanderings

    October 24, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 73 °F

    Our Nagasaki wanderings took us to the local arcade, a covered shopping area. As I was snapping a photo of Larry trying out some unusual seats, a group of schoolgirls approached and asked if they could interview us.

    They asked us where we were from, what our favorite Japanese foods were, and where we were going next.

    They were so cute. There was much giggling!

    In the tram, Larry towered over locals. He’s 6’ 1”, so hardly a giant by US standards, but over here, he’s easy to spot in a crowd.

    I’m not sure what the star represents for Nagasaki, but I saw stars on manhole covers all over town.

    When I saw “silk thread purple sweet potato ice cream” for sale, I had to give it a try. The machine that extruded the sweet potato reminded me of a Play Doh fun factory. Remember those?

    It was tasty enough, but I prefer a more savory sweet potato. Glad we tried it, though.

    We saw another Buddhist monk begging in the arcade, as well as an array of Buddhist swastikas at a shop selling incense, flowers, and religious items.

    After the sign forbidding camels in the cruise port, I had to pose with the local camel we came across.

    We could have spent several days exploring Nagasaki, but we enjoyed the many flavors this day offered!
    Read more