Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Bye bye, Japan!

    November 2, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 82 °F

    Fun day wandering the streets of Ishigaki, a small island in the Okinawa Prefecture of Japan.

    The local mascot is a cute-but-stern looking bird. In addition to Shisa-lions, we saw a lot of SPAM and snake products for sale.

    The flowering pink Silk Floss trees remind me of textiles I’ve seen here. I was also intrigued by a potted coconut. That’s life in the tropics in a nutshell… literally!

    The band poster we saw in an alleyway made me laugh because the band’s name is the Nosewaters… which reminded me of that mural I saw in Kushiro that claimed a restaurant’s food was so spicy it would make your nose water.

    After today’s jaunt, we had a face to face immigration. Japan is one of those countries that makes you check in and check out.

    This was our last port in Japan. What a fascinating country and culture. We loved our time here and hope to return soon!
    Read more