Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    4 Hong Kong Markets

    November 11, 2023 in Hong Kong ⋅ ☁️ 77 °F

    Our Hong Kong guide, Patrick, was excellent. His jokes kept us on our toes, but he shared a lot about his life, the culture, politics, and history.

    As part of our tour, he took us to 4 different markets in Hong Kong: Stanley Market, a bird market, a jade market, and a flower market.

    Along the way he asked if we had any questions. “As a matter of fact, I do,” piped a woman with a strong Brooklyn accent. “You’re taking us to all these markets, but I wanna know where the Chinatown is.”

    As the bus full of passenger erupted o to giggles, Patrick calmly explained that, “Everywhere is Chinatown, madame. This is Hong Kong. You are in China!”

    You’d think that would have been e Pugh, but the lady wouldn’t back down. She insisted for the rest of the tour that, “Hong Kong is known for its Chinatown. I read it online.”

    “Where did you read this, madame? Please tell me. I’m Chinese. I live here. If we had a Chinatown, I would know.”

    Hoo whee! I’m sure Patrick will work this anecdote into his routine! People will probably think it’s a joke, but I was there. That lady was real.

    Anyway…

    In Stanley Market, we saw lots of “neon” lights made with LEDs, along with electronics, and general souvenirs. Our guide said locals jokingly call it “Caucasian Town.”

    “There are Chinatowns all over the world,”he explained. “There ought to be a Caucasian Town here in China, right?”

    The bird market was a narrow alley filled with an array of bird cages, birds, as well as crickets, grasshoppers, and meal worms to feed them. Patrick said birds were especially popular pets for men.

    Every morning, a man will take his bird to the nearby park. “Man to man conversation. Bird to bird conversation.”

    Patrick said his dad “walked” their bird every morning and always came home in a better mood.

    I didn’t take too many photos at the jade market, although it was very pretty. Patrick warned us that, “the jade merchants are very pushy” and he as right. I merely glanced at some bracelets, and the next thing you know, a woman was sliding them onto my wrists. They were pretty, but way out of my budget, like $200 and up for a bracelet.

    The flower market was beautiful and smelled lovely, too. All in all, visiting these open air markets in Hong Kong was a colorful experience.
    Read more