Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Bangkok Chinatown

    November 22, 2023 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 88 °F

    I enjoyed our walk through Bangkok’s Chinatown. It was a cacophony of sights, sounds, and smells as we trotted behind our guide.

    Several restaurants sell bird’s nest soup, which is considered a delicacy around here. Although illegal in the USA, from what I’ve been told the collection of bird’s nests in Thailand is regulated and sustainable. I sure hope so.

    Shark’s fin soup is also for sale here, and that made me quite sad to see. Sharks may be scary, but they are an important part of the ecosystem. Killing them for their fins should be illegal worldwide, in my opinion.

    I also saw a little sidewalk vendor selling marijuana, which isn’t legal even in Thailand.

    I included a pic of a 7 Eleven, because this convenience store is a big deal everywhere in Asia, it seems.
    Read more