Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Matosinhos

    January 10 in Portugal ⋅ 🌧 54 °F

    It was gray and drizzly in Matosinhos, Portugal. Though it may look chilly in the photos, it was lovely walking weather.

    We originally planned to take the Hop On Hop Off to Porto, but never did find the correct bus stop. After following 3 different signs pointing 3 different directions we decided to explore Matosinhos.

    After posing in front of the ruins of a chapel, we wandered to the local market where I saw a hen with a beautiful comb.

    In true Portuguese fashion, there were mosaic walkways and buildings featuring colorful tiles.

    Portugal is known for a pastry called “pastel de nata,” so I was eager to try one. These are little tarts filled with a custard made from egg yolks.

    Back in the day, egg whites were used for starching clothes. Some monks in Lisbon created the pastel de nata to use the surplus yolks.

    My verdict? Yum! I love egg custard and these were creamy and not too sweet.

    As for the statue, I wasn’t able to read the sign next to it. I think he looks a little like Gary Oldman, actually…

    Later in the day, we stopped at another cafe. The sign on the door gave me a laugh because although “puxe” is pronounced rather like “push,” it actually means “pull.”
    Read more