Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Fremantle Cemetery

    March 3 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 91 °F

    Considering that it’s “the most visited grave in Australia,” Bon Scott’s monument is surprisingly humble.

    As AC/DC’s original singer, and despite lyrics proclaiming, “forget the hearse, cuz I never die,” Scott tragically drank himself to death in 1980.

    Cremation was not approved by the Catholic church until 1963. Even then, they frown upon ashes being scattered, preferring them to be buried instead.

    Bon Scott’s ashes are buried along with many others in a small remembrance garden, so it took a while to find.

    The flat monument is covered with grave goods befitting a rock star such as beer caps, booze bottles, and an AC/DC candle.

    There are a couple of info plaques near his grave, as well. One provides a mini bio of Bon Scott, along with a QR code for more details, while another reminds fans to be respectful when they visit his grave.

    In places, the vegetation at West Terrace Cemetery is quite lush. The oldest section, however, reminds me of scraped graveyards I’ve seen in the USA. I didn’t come across any groundskeepers, alas, so I couldn’t ask about that.

    The cemetery has a pretty walking trail, with more signage and QR codes. I had a printed copy of the map from the Visitor’s Center, too.

    I need to invest in a good pair of binoculars, because once again the birding here was excellent, and I swear a couple lorikeets were following Larry around the place!
    Read more