Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Kopi C & Historic Cemeteries

    March 11 in Singapore ⋅ ☁️ 90 °F

    Our plan was to take the Hop On Hop Off bus to Singapore’s Kampong Glam neighborhood, then find a coffee shop where could enjoy some Kopi C Peng, a local treat that’s very similar to Vietnamese iced coffee.

    We wound up having espresso with iced cream which, while tasty, isn’t quite the same thing. Oh, well!

    Thus refreshed, it was time to find Singapore’s Old Malay Cemetery. Along the way, we passed a coffeehouse called Penny University.

    Years ago, I had a coffeehouse of my own called the New Bohemian. After it closed, however, I sometimes daydreamed of opening another coffeehouse and calling it Penny University!

    Why? Because that’s an old nickname for English coffeehouses. Back in the day, you could buy coffee for a penny, and get an education from all the learned folks there.

    Next time I visit Singapore, I’d definitely like to visit Penny University.

    Google steered us to the Old Malay Cemetery, which is tucked behind a bus stop on a busy street and surrounded by tall buildings.

    As of this writing, I don’t know the meaning behind the green, white, and yellow cloth. More items for my research file!
    Read more