Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Sorrento, Italia

    September 9, 2014 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Pic 1 - Sorrento main square

    Pic 2 - On the way to the port to take the hydrofoil to Capri

    Pic 3 - Taken from the port looking at the cliff walls of Sorrento. Definitely no problem defending this in times past.

    I was hurting yesterday after a long 24 hours across 6 trains including the final train a commuter train from Naples to Sorrento with 32 stops. A third of the way into that final train a trio of musicians got on and wanted to play for everyone very loud music with a variety of instruments and an amplifier. I tried to pay them to stop playing as it was clearly annoying everyone and my head was about to explode. During that I met a very interesting tour guide name Roberto who owns part of a local travel agency known my the hotel where I am staying and will be going to tour the Amalfi Coast with him this week. He told me he no longer needs espresso each morning as he takes the commuter train each morning and the wake him up.

    I am staying at:

    http://ulisse.hotelmobilesite.com

    Real nice hotel with a spa attached gym and pool that are separately run but discounted. They have a wing of dorm rooms they call a hostel inside the hotel at discounted rates. I'm in a 2 person dorm and the only one in it. So it's a private hotel room at a dirt cheap price per night of 25 euro in a town that has been a resort town since the time of the Roman Empire. I was fine for 8 nights in 16 person dorm in Nice so this is quite a change.

    Capri next!
    Read more