Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Leaving Zurich next stop Stuttgart

    September 20, 2014 in Switzerland ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    I enjoyed my stay in Zurich and would like to return here and to other parts of Switzerland. I found the people top be incredibly accommodating and pleasant while being quick and efficient. I'm glad I made it up here from southern Europe. The hostel was in the red light district and with it being legal there it was quite blatant and they allow for street prostitution so there were hookers everywhere. Along the street by the hostel were two stores, one pictured that I'm gonna call "The Ho Depot" that was specifically to outfit the working girls. Despite what some may consider seedy about where the hostel was located it felt totally safe and it didn't seem like they had many problems related to it but of course it's Switzerland.

    The Langstars backpackers hostel was a great find at 33 euro per night in a city known to be super expensive. They had a small bar and restaurant on-site and live music every night. All items at discount and in dorm kitchen complete minus burners but space for food prep and full fridge. The real find however was pointed out to me by the staff that around the corner was a discount supermarket with prices close to half the cost of other places. See earlier post of hookers in front of me at the super market.
    Read more