Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Berlin, Germany

    October 3, 2014 in Germany ⋅ 🌙 16 °C

    A lot going on here as my timing to arrive in Berlin just happens to line up with German Unification Day. Yes celebrating East and West Germany reunited as one country. Many trains headed here and this place is clearly amped up for a big party.

    The Berlin HBF (main train station) is the biggest I have seen yet. It looks to have trains entering on 5 levels. Look closely and you can see a train coming in on the second level.

    View out the back of the Generator Hostel Prenzlauer which in what would have been East Berlin Soviet Sector during the cold war. I think that is a massive gymnasium and pool with a park on top. I'm betting it was used to train East German athletes but I'll have to look it up later.

    Brandenburg Gate; I'm here with Tom from Manchester who is also staying at the hostel. Coming down to see what's going of for the celebration.
    Read more