Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 49

    Krakow, Poland to Prague, Czech Republic

    October 13, 2014 in Poland ⋅ 🌫 14 °C

    Heading to Prague. I've been in Krakow 5 nights and that's a long time when your in a traveling groove. You get an itch to be on the road. Stayed in a private room last night at a different hostel. The scalding hot water (bump the terribly placed handle in the shower and receive a blast of the hottest water you can imagine) and the terrible WiFi for 4 nights was enough and it was 18 USD for a night at the Dizzy Daisy hostel near the train station. Last night I ate sausage soup and Placki ziemniaczane z gulaszem, a pot roast like stew with sour cream on a potato pancake. I have enjoyed Poland and especially liked the food but the infrastructure needs a lot of work. If that is improved I think many more would come here and I think this is important as I don't know if there is a more important place to see concerning WWII than Auschwitz - Birkenau. It was hard to get here and hard to leave, but worth it. I showed up at the train station this morning for a 10:34 am train that was on the schedule that got completely removed from today's schedule some how. I'm on a train to Katowice now and think I've got a way to Prague figured out putting me there about 830 tonight.

    For the first time on my journey missed my stop failing to get off at the right stop in Ostrava but got off on the very next stop and really lucked out as my train to Prague happened to be late and passing through the station I got off at. So back in track on the train pictured. The Czech train I am on is quite nice and has free WiFi.
    Read more