Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    In a Paris cafe eating onion soup!

    August 18, 2019 in France ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    So thankful to arrive at Charles De Gaulle at 3.00PM. Baggage took a while. Our transfer taxi was lovely.

    Overcast and a humid 23 degrees in Paris today. Our hotel is Le M Saint Germain.
    The room is perfect and the first thing I see is a balcony, my favourite thing in any hotel. I step out amongst the zinc roofs and look out onto those fabulous sandstone buildings. Am very thankful. Paris is gorgeous.

    Athena spies a lovely gift from Amanda (our travel agent, such a blessing, go see her at Berwick Travel) Colourful French macaroons. They were great with a tea, thanks Amanda.

    After a much needed shower and mobile charge, we head out for a stroll towards the Seine.

    I spy the Pantheon at the end of our street so we head up that way. I discover we are walking the wrong direction, whoops 🤭 The Notre Dame is the other way!! We stroll past beautiful cafes full of diners and head back for the river. The streets are full of tourists.
    The Notre Dame is closed off and we see the fire damage and works being done. Grateful that we had both already visited inside four years ago. We were shocked when we heard the news.

    We walk up to Saint Chappel church and Athena looks longingly at a beautiful restaurant. So, we take a table, order onion soup and a 'chardy' and settle in.
    Half way through dinner, I realise that, this is it! Sitting outside a beautiful Paris cafe, watching people walk by, drinking wine with my beautiful friend! This was my absolute wish for my birthday.
    Dream big I say, with some effort, they come true!
    Read more